Inspirations

My Freshly Pressed Experience

So it started late on Friday night when I received this email:

I thought maybe I’d have to wait until Sunday for the fun to begin, but even by the time I’d got online on Saturday morning, my article (Science and Art) was up there on the Freshly Pressed page.

I’d heard from other people that the Freshly Pressed experience can be a wild ride, but I didn’t know what to expect for myself. This blog is quite new, there’s not a lot of content here. And the article that was picked was written on a whim, after considering a topic for two days and concluding that I didn’t know what I thought about it. But, having recently discovered Montaigne, I thought I could just write something ‘stream of consciousness’ style, wandering wherever the moment took me.

So how has the experience been? Well, my inbox has been bursting with likes, follows and comments. My visitor rates have gone through the roof.

This is all very good for my ego – except that now things are quietening down, I feel a sense of responsibility and burden. To say something worth reading. To post interesting things. This blog was started as a place for me to store my thoughts an readings on storytelling, but with this recent experience it has become more than that. I just don’t know if I can sustain more than that. But, this is all getting a bit heavy. Being Freshly Pressed is a good thing, and it has been fun.

So, my time in the limelight is nearly over. It has been great to have so many people come to my blog and send comments. And I’m very flattered that the comments have been largely complimentary.

A massive thank you to everyone who has come to my blog after seeing it on Freshly Pressed, stayed to read the post, clicked on like or even follow. And a special thanks to those that have taken the time to comment and linked to my blog from their own posts.

4 thoughts on “My Freshly Pressed Experience

Leave a Reply

